Woodland leads Simpson by one in Mexico

After rounds of 64-65, Gary Woodland leads the OHL Classic at Mayakoba by one over Webb Simpson. Here’s where things stand through 36 holes in Mexico:

Leaderboard: Woodland (-13), Simpson (-12), Scott Piercy (-11), Ben Martin (-9), Chris Kirk (-9), John Huh (-9), Abraham Ancer (-9), Adam Hadwin (-9), Russell Knox (-9), Charles Howell III (-9)

What it means: The long-driving Woodland is a two-time Tour winner who hasn’t claimed victory since the 2013 Reno-Tahoe Open. In the interim, he’s racked up five runner-ups, most notably a finals loss to Rory McIlroy at the WGC-Match Play at Harding Park in 2015. Woodland flew somewhat under the radar last season but actually enjoyed a remarkably steady season, finishing 20th in the FedEx standings with a runner-up, four top-10s and 14 top-25s in 26 starts. He’ll be chased this weekend by the former U.S. Open winner Simpson, a notable casualty of the anchoring ban who also hasn’t won since 2013.

Round of the day: Following a first-round 72, rookie Xander Schauffele fired an 8-under 63 with eight birdies, two bogeys and an eagle. The Web.com graduate tied for fifth two weeks ago at the Sanderson Farms.

Best of the rest: Four players – Martin, Howell III, Steve Marino and Stewart Cink – turned in 64s. Howell was bogey-free. Cink’s first eight holes included six birdies and a double bogey.

Biggest disappointment: Rookie Nicholas Lindheim was one shot off the lead after Round 1 and ended up missing the cut after a second-round 76. Notables to miss the 2-under cut include Billy Horschel (-1), Ian Poulter (-1), 2014 champion Charley Hoffman (-1), Ernie Els (E), Tony Finau (+1), Jim Furyk (+2), Hunter Mahan (+4), and Luke Donald (+5). 

Shot of the day: Simpson nearly aced the par-3 15th with this drawing 8-iron from 155 yards. He tapped in for his sixth and final circle of the day on a bogey-free card:

Storyline to watch this weekend: Ancer, 25, is trying to become just the third player from Mexico to win on the PGA Tour and the first since Victor Regalado in 1978.