Vote now: Who is the best crew chief in NASCAR history?

We posted all 14 crew chiefs who have won multiple championships in NASCAR’s Premier Series and now we want you to vote on who was the best crew chief in the history of the sport.

The choices include Dale Inman, Chad Knaus, Kirk Shelmerdine, Leonard Wood, Harry Hyde, and Ray Evernham.

Inman is the winningest crew chief in NASCAR history with eight championships and over 170 career wins. He had the majority of his success with his cousin Richard Petty. He added his eighth championship with Terry Labonte in 1984 and spent 24 total seasons as a crew chief.

Chad Knaus, the only current crew chief on the list, has had immense success with Jimmie Johnson. The two have won seven championships together and will be one of the favorites heading into 2017.

Kirk Shelmerdine was the youngest crew chief to ever win a championship when he teamed up with Dale Earnhardt in 1986. Shelmerdine won four championships with Earnhardt and abruptly retired from the pit box in 1992 to pursue racing.

Leonard Wood’s major contributions didn’t come through victories as a crew chief. His major success was in the way he revolutionized the pit stop. His advancements with utilizing power wrenches, synchronizing the process of the stop, and modernizing the floor jack brought the time of a pit stop down significantly.

Harry Hyde, who became the inspiration for the character Harry Hogge in Days of Thunder, had remarkable success with Bobby Isaac, winning 33 races together and the 1970 championship. Hyde bounced around NASCAR garages with several teams and had success late in his career with Tim Richmond, winning seven races together in 1986 and finishing third in the standings.

Ray Evernham dominated with Jeff Gordon in the mid-90s as the two won three championships and 47 races over a seven-year span. The success of Evernham over his short stint as a crew chief led him to be considered among the best crew chiefs in the sport’s history. He left Hendrick Motorsports in 2000 to become a car owner on his own and won 13 races over his eight seasons as an owner.

Make your voice heard and vote below for which crew chief is the best in NASCAR history.