Kuchar retroactively receives car for hole-in-one

Matt Kuchar is getting his car after all.

Kuchar made an ace during the third round of last week’s WGC-HSBC Champions in China, but because of a technicality was not awarded the Cadillac car that was on display near the tee on the par-3 17th hole. It led Kuchar to describe the shot as “one of the saddest hole-in-ones I’ve ever had.”

The issue arose because of the hole’s yardage. It was only playing 193 yards during the third round, and the prizing rules stipulated that the hole must play at least 200 yards for the car to be up for grabs.

But the situation was rectified Thursday when the Tour announced that Kuchar would, in fact, receive a prize for his efforts from Cadillac.

“Certainly this is no longer the saddest hole-in-one in my life,” Kuchar said in a release. “My 9-year-old son recently asked me if I’d ever made a hole-in-one to win a car, and I’ll be happy to tell him now that I have.”

According to the release, Kuchar had his pick of any car within Cadillac’s lineup and went with a 2017 Escalade.