Joey Logano lug nut fine headlines lengthy penalty report

NASCAR has handed down its penalty report from Sunday’s race at Texas Motor Speedway, and the most serious infraction was a $10,000 fine to Team Penske crew chief Todd Gordon for an improperly installed lug nut on Joey Logano’s car following the AAA Texas 500.

That said, five drivers were docked 15 minutes of practice time each:

– The cars of Kevin Harvick, Tony Stewart, Carl Edwards and Martin Truex Jr. all failed pre-qualifying template inspection three times.

– AJ Allmendinger’s car failed the Laser Inspection Station three times in pre-qualifying inspection.

Also, the cars of Trevor Bayne, Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth,  Kurt Busch and Jeffrey Earnhardt all failed pre-qualifying  temple inspection twice. That earned them all written warnings.

In addition, Austin Dillon and David Ragan received written warnings for failing the Laser Inspection Station three times in pre-race inspection.

Dillon and Greg Biffle received written warnings for failing the Laser Inspection Station twice  in pre-qualifying inspection.

On the NASCAR XFINITY side, Brendan Gaughan lost 10 points for a “violation of Sections 12.1; Note: Race finish is encumbered per Section 12.10 Encumbered Race Finishes. Post-race incorrect ground clearance and/or body heights measurements.” Gaughan’s crew chief, Shane Wilson, was fined $10,000 and the team lost 10 owner points.

The penalty means Gaughan, who is eighth in points, will need to win at Phoenix on Saturday or face elimination from the XFINITY Chase.

Also hit with a similar penalty was the No. 88 JR Motorsports team, which lost 10 car owner points and saw crew chief Dave Elenz fined $10,000.

Elliott Sadler’s crew chief, Kevin Meendering was fined $5,000 for an improperly attached lug nut.

Given written warnings for various  inspection violations were the Nos. 3, 20, 2 and 88.

NASCAR also indefinitely suspended two individuals, Michael S. Rathje and Michael L. Hubert, for behavioral violations.