Cristiano Ronaldo wins 2016 Ballon d’Or trophy

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the 2016 Ballon d’Or trophy for a fourth time. The 31-year-old Portuguese took home the golden ball in 2008, 2013 and 2014, and now he reclaims the trophy from Lionel Messi after a one-year hiatus.

Ronaldo’s win caps an incredible year for the Real Madrid man as he scored 48 goals for club and country in 52 appearances on the way to his third Champions League victory, and the first European Championship in Portugal’s history. He scored three goals for Portugal on their way to the European title, and the match-winning penalty for Madrid as they beat Atletico Madrid in a shootout in the Champions League final.


With the win, Ronaldo pulls within one of Messi’s incredible haul of five Ballon d’Or trophies.

The Ballon d’Or is given to the world’s best Europe-based player as voted by 173 journalists from around the world. It’s been awarded by France Football every year since 1956, but for the past six years it became the FIFA Ballon d’Or, until FIFA ended its association with the award in September.