Chris Buescher to drive No. 37 for JTG Daugherty Racing

Chris Buescher’s JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet will carry the No. 37 in 2017, the team announced late Monday afternoon.

Buescher, who as a rookie won the second Pocono race of 2016, joined Chase Elliott as the first rookies to make the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup since Denny Hamlin in 2006.

But at the end of his successful rookie campaign, Buescher left Front Row Motorsports to move to JTG’s new second team. The No. 37 team has leased a charter from Roush Fenway Racing, which used it on the now-defunct No. 16 in 2016.


The No. 37 last appeared in the NASCAR Premier Series in 2014, when it was used by Tommy Baldwin Racing and was driven by Mike Bliss (six races), JJ Yeley (three) and Bobby Labonte (1).

In 483 NASCAR Premier Series races, the No. 37 visited Victory Lane just once.

That was back in 1968, when the late NASCAR Hall of Fame driver  Bobby Isaac drove Nord Krauskopf’s No. 37 K&K Insurance Dodge to victory in Columbia, S.C.